Beauty Essentials (or something)

1

April 30, 2013 by kholzhauer

So since my blog is about nothing (and everything) all at once, I figure it’s high time I throw in that obligatory, female blogger, “here’s how to live” post. Except here’s the kicker. I’m not the best at this. And you can probably afford all my beauty “essentials.” You can probably afford them all in one trip. No scrimping and saving for a face cream made from the blood of unicorns the tears of virgins here.

But before we get into the products, here’s how I achieve a generally good complextion: Wash my face at night and use sunscreen. Really, that’s it. And I get zits, especially around my period, but my nightly skincare “ritual” consists of washing my face with off-brand neutrogena knock off facial soap and a washcloth. That and Burts Bees chapstick. Love that minty fresh taste.

Skin:

5 skin essentials
5 skin essentials 

So ths delightful Polyvore collage (hey, I’m expanding) is the shit I use to keep my skin generally good. I mentioned the face wash, the sunscreen and the lip gloss. I use coconut oil instead of lotion. I like the smell, it’s cheap, it doesn’t break me out, and it absorbs quickly (great for pole). I use oxy spot treatment on zits. I’ve been using it since high school. It appears to work.

Makeup:

Skin Essentials

kateholzhauer 


My makeup routine isn’t elaborate (which isn’t to say I don’t sometimes do elaborate makeup.) Since I’m focusing on essentials, I’ll stick to the stuff I put on most days. I tend to go makeup free 3-4 days a week, just because I feel like it’s good to let my skin breathe, but here’s the normal. BB cream (lightly tinted, moisturizing, spf, not too expensive,) Mineral powder, because any cream makes me look a little greasy, tinted chapstick. On days when I want to feel fancy, I add mascara. On nights out, I’ll add eyeshadow or lipstick. Maybe even bronzer or blush. But that’s all the
exception rather than the norm.

Hair:

I got lucky. I have really good hair. Long, thick, tough, takes color, heat, abuse and all that well.  But I don’t really color heat or abuse it. Hence there not being a slideshow, collage or anything. I just wash it, sleep on wet hair, wake up in the morning, brush it and go. And my shampoo of choice is whatever’s cheapest. I love V05 or Suave.

Other stuff:

stuff

Well, here’s all the other crap I use daily. Toothpaste (with a toothbrush, not pictured,)  floss, mouth rinse, shower gel ( I love that this one is called pamplemousse douche, at least in my head,) baby powder, and perfume. I don’t wear perfume every day, but I sniff it every day since the smell makes me happy. It’s Love, Chloe. I got mine in Italy and it smells different than the stuff at sephora. Weird. I do use baby powder every day. I wear a lot of flats without socks, and well, my feet get sweaty, smelly, slippery, and weird. It keeps me from slipping around and stinking up the office. Plus, helps avoid the thigh chafe when I’m running around in skirts all day.

Maybe one day I’ll post about the more exciting stuff I do. I’ve just been a bit boring lately. I’ll own it. Sometimes I’d rather spend my non-boring time out living life.

One thought on “Beauty Essentials (or something)

  1. Must Have Boxes says:

    Great beauty picks! I love Burt’s Bees lip balm.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

Leave a Reply

