I should. . .

1

August 22, 2013 by kholzhauer

With all my trying to figure life out, I’m coming up with a lot of “I shoulds.”  The goal, is to eventually turn them into “I wills,” and then into “I dids.”   I’m not there yet, though I’m taking baby steps toward a better life every day, but writing down the shoulds may be enough to motivate me to act more.  Sometimes having even a massive theoretical to do list is better than none at all.

Friends, what are your tricks for motivation? How do you turn it around and do something proactive after a long day of work? How do you get where you need to go?

I should . . .

Image

. . . vary my workout more. I love pole, really I do, but I’m

not doing enough other cardio, and even enough full body weights.  When I watched our run through for the show on Friday it struck me — I need to be in better shape to get where I want to be with pole.  I mean sure, I can do some cool stuff, and maybe I just need to be in better shape to be more confident, but I really want to take it to another level and I’m not quite there.

. . . Take classes at other studios/with new teachers. I love Luscious Maven (where I take most, if not all) of my classes and I feel so comfortable and safe there. But on the occasion that I take classes with new teachers in new studios, I feel like I learn faster in all my classes. Maybe it’s because everyone teaches differently, and someone can explain a move in a way that works for me.  Maybe being outside my comfort zone is important. I don’t want to leave Luscious Maven. I just want to learn from more people.

. . . Eat healthier more. I’m good about healthy breakfasts, lunches and most dinners. I’m terrible with snacking lately. Time to start writing it down, buckling up, and paying attention again.

. . . write every day. I’m good at writing 2-3 times a week right now, but I want to write (for me or the blog) every single day. I’m my best when I have to.

. . . put together a cookbook and try to publish. Even if it’s self publishing on amazon. Who knows. I could do something great.

. . . Spend creative time in my relationship. We’re happy. Stupid happy sometimes. But we’re good at falling into ruts. Time to break out, try new things and get creative.

. . . Spend more time with friends.  I’m bad about this. I’m lucky to have really amazing friends. I just tend to be anti-social after work (too much time with people, not enough introvert time.) and not great at reaching out on the weekends. I need to get better. I also need to do things with friends other than food and drink things.

. . . Make new friends. I’m getting better, and as mentioned, I have wonderful friends. But I haven’t mastered the art of meeting friends as a grown up. There are a lot of women at pole I’d love to hang with outside of pole, but I don’t know how to make the leap. How do you make friends as an adult (especially working in a small and somewhat anti-social office.)

. . .figure out how to dress my body. Body is a work in progress, so dressing it is a work in progress. I hear that good fashion starts with good foundations, and Victoria’s Secret seems to have discontinued my favorite bra. Bastards.

. . . host more.  I have a beautiful place now. I need to host more parties (large and small.)

This isn’t it, but this is a start. Every time I start writing, a list of “I Should” seems to come flowing out.

One thought on “I should. . .

  1. Jess says:

    I would need to write an entire post about my I Shoulds!

    I have been saying for years that I should write a book. I finally am now, I’m finally serious about it and I have an editor and all that. I think success depends on who you have around for support and encouragement and motivation depends on working on a timeline. If you never have a “deadline”, what’s to start you from starting your projects?

Leave a Reply

